The Cancel :: Jungle

Mar 7th, 2016 : by :: Tags: , ,
The Cancel :: Jungle Any of you fine listeners planning on backpacking through any rainforests anytime soon? Hip-hop collaborative/producer The Cancel‘s latest album Jungle is the perfect companion to satisfy your wanderlust. A seamless blend of tribal vibes, jazz, and bossa nova, Jungle is extremely satisfying for the trip-hop-heads among us. I’ve been wading ear-deep through the jazzy trip-hop waters for several years now, and find myself floating alongside The Cancel’s productions more than anything else. Here are my two favorites from the new record:

  • Share this music:
  • comment
Ads like this help keep Newdust alive.
Thanks for the support!

BRETT :: Electric

Mar 3rd, 2016 : by :: Tags: , ,
Check out “Electric”, the latest single from Brett, off their sophmore album Mode. A solid track with catchy hooks. Brett is keeping up their effort to blend dreamy synth pop with ethereal beats. Grab the album here and enjoy.
  • Share this music:
  • comment

Newdust Mixtape No. 23 :: Vapedust

Feb 29th, 2016 : by :: Tags: , , ,
Newdust Mixtape No. 23 :: Vapedust

  1. Galimatias :: Ocean Floor Kisses
  2. Koresma :: Clouds (03:34)
  3. Neguim Beats :: Jazz feat. Kolombiano (06:48)
  4. Akryte :: Film Strip (10:09)
  5. Tennyson :: No Answer (12:05)
  6. Integer :: Rivière Noire feat. Katja (14:28)
  7. AstroLogical :: Loafers (18:24)
  8. Flako :: Demon’s Lullaby (21:12)
  9. Joey Pecoraro :: Tired Boy (24:08)
  10. Ev Ree Wuhn :: Sapporo (27:30) *
  11. Liam Back :: Stop The Bullet (31:13)
  12. Hubert Daviz :: 3_andablunt (34:38)
  13. Space Gang :: Smok’d Up (35:02) **
  14. Harald Kindseth :: Botanique (36:01)
    *Sampled Menahan Street Band – Ivory And Blue Reprise
    **Sampled The Midnight Eez – Childhood Memories (noise track)

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Newdust Mixtape No. 23 :: Vapedust

  • Share this music:
  • comment

Foreign Air :: In The Shadows + show on March 2

Feb 19th, 2016 : by :: Tags: , , , ,
Foreign Air is out with another great single called “In The Shadows”. This is solid follow-up to their previous release “Free Animal“. If you are in DC check them out at the W Hotel’s POV lounge on March 2. Doors open 7:30. You can RSVP and get details here. Enjoy…
  • Share this music:
  • comment

Ramsey :: See You Bleed + Red & White

Feb 17th, 2016 : by :: Tags: , ,
Ramsey - See You Bleed Trip-hop singer/songwriter Ramsey seems to have come out of nowhere. She’s only been active on social networks since mid-December, and in the last month she has dropped 8 tracks on Soundcloud, all of which were written and produced herself. In this short amount of time, she has grabbed the attention of over 3,000 followers.
Her songs are as dark and sexy as her voice is raspy and soulful. The sound is quite enveloping – hard to quit after just one listen. In the same vein as Portishead and Phantogram, the tunes are dripping with trip-hop, downtempo beats and heavy on reverberating bass lines. Here is her first official single, “See You Bleed”, along with another one of my favorites, “Red and White”.

  • Share this music:
  • comment

Ski Lodge :: Crush Your Heart

Feb 16th, 2016 : by :: Tags: , , ,
There were many things to love about Big Heart, the debut L.P. from Brooklyn twee-pop band Ski Lodge, but the over-eager, C-86 guitars were way up there on the list. Thus, it’s somewhat jarring to find that on their new single, “Crush Your Heart,” the guitar takes a backseat to bright, guileless synths that would sound right at home on a mid-80’s chart-topper from the likes of A-ha or OMD. Assertive, analog bass drives the track forward at the pixie stick-fueled pace of the band’s previous work, but the drums are bigger and damper, and when the guitar does come out from under the synthesizers, it assumes the cold distance of early New Order or, later in the song, the lizardy seductiveness of Duran Duran.

Bandleader Andrew Marr’s apparent love for the second half of the 1980s is still very much on display, as is his Smiths-ian misanthropy, delivered in a Morrissey-meets-Dan-Bejar croon with lines like “My God, you’re a hateful one; Does it hurt, or do you love being alone?” The lyrics, directed toward some friend or acquaintance for whom Marr seemingly feels little but disdain, simultaneously mock and legitimize a pathetic need for romantic partnership rooted in a powerful fear of dying alone. In the distance between the tune’s poppy, danceable packaging and its existentially unsettling contents, there lies a satisfyingly weighty subtext: sure we’re all fundamentally alone, scared, and miserable, but that can’t stop us from having some fun.

words by Joe Thurston

  • Share this music:
  • comment