Dream Machines :: Started At One

Oct 16th, 2014 : by :: Tags: , , , ,

Scope the latest single from Dream Machines, invoking a synth-fueled syncopated beat, an anthemic rock & roll chorus, and some oh-so-sweet falsetto back-up vocals. Enjoy and download for free HERE.

  • comment

PREMIERE : The Olympics :: Who Are You (video)

Oct 10th, 2014 : by :: Tags: , ,

Music is one of the greatest channels for powerful emotional release. Most of us claim we’re optimists, but the darkness in life really makes for the most impassioned listening experiences. This has been proven time and time again on mainstream radio—the public’s veneration of tracks like “Someone Like You” by Adele or “Wrecking Ball” by Miley Cyrus proves that we are empowered by our idols’ shared misfortune and solitude. It’s even more common to relate to tragedy in rock, which finds much of its soul-searching disillusionment in Blues music.

The Olympics embody this emotional turmoil excellently in their new single “Who Are You”. The track has all the right elements to create a wholly downcast mood. A harried guitar solo, impassioned vocals, and explicit lyrics that fully expose the narrative of the song: “I hope you choke in your sleep” is the climatic kiss-off here in a track about unobtainable affection and rejection. “Who Are You” is immediate, and satisfies our masochistic nostalgia for feeling abject and unlovable. It’s also a poignant and direct exercise in pop-structured rock, and introduces the Olympics to a wider audience. While the band hasn’t come any closer to reconciliation with the track’s out-of-reach lover, they define themselves as musicians.

  • comment

ALBUM STREAM :: Furniteur EP

Sep 3rd, 2014 : by :: Tags: , , , , ,

DC’s own Furniteur is now out with their self-titled EP. For those keeping score, we are a big fans of the collaboration of artist and musician Brittany Sims, Kevin Bayly of former Dance Party fame and now BRETT, and Mike Toohey (also from BRETT). Their debut single and track one, “Modern Love” is a nice dose of 80s pop and the rest of the EP follows the same breezy path. Grab the EP at Prince George Records on cassette, as well as iTunes for all you crazy kids with your iPods. Enjoy…

  • comment

TOPS :: Way to be Loved

Jul 29th, 2014 : by :: Tags: , , ,

Montreal’s TOPS is out with the single “Way to be Loved” off their new LP Picture You Staring. You can pre-order the record HERE, which is out on September 2 on Artubus Records.

BONUS: Scope out their previous single, “Change of Heart” below. Enjoy…

  • comment

All Things Go Fall Classic : Lineup Announced featuring Future Islands

Jul 23rd, 2014 : by :: Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Great news DC. Our friends at All Things Go have announced a music festival to take place on September 13, 2014 at Dock5 at Union Market.

The lineup will feature headliner Future Islands as well as indie acts such as HAERTS, U.S. Royalty, Bear Hands, Panama Wedding and Young Summer.

Also, I am told there will be some choice food options catered by local DC vendors and chefs. See ya there, grab your tickets HERE and stay tuned for more details.

  • comment

Michael Jackson :: I Can’t Help It (Todd Terje Edit)

Jul 17th, 2014 : by :: Tags: , ,

We’re right smack in the middle of the warm months, smiles and beach songs time. Here is a track to elicit summertime joy tears, a sped up version of MJs 1979 classic “I Can’t Help it.” Shaped by the Norwegian God of Disco Todd Terje, this is about as good as music gets. Enjoy.

  • comment

Mixtape : Wacks :: Chi Duly

Jun 18th, 2014 : by :: Tags: , , , , , , ,

Listen up to this mixtape courtesy of newly formed record NY/LA label Wacks, who commissioned NYC’s Chi Duly to curate one of many “friends of Wacks” mixtapes to come. Lots of house, R&B, electronic and some even some indie. Enjoy…

  1. Chi Duly & MICK – P∆R†I†IØN (Unoriginal Mix)
  2. Jean Tonique – I Just Wanna Love U (Remix)
  3. Logic ft. Jhene Aiko – Break It Down (Louis Futon Remix)
  4. Logic – We Get High (Chi Duly Remix)
  5. Kakkmaddafakka – Someone New (Roosevelt Remix)
  6. Louie Fresco – New Hateration (MK Remix)
  7. Next – Too Close (VELCRO Remix – Chi Duly Edit)
  8. Motez – Like I Love You (Remix)
  9. Teedra Moses – Be Your Girl (Kaytranada Edition)
  10. Wasabi, Sugar Hill – Sexy Eyes
  11. Cathy Dennis – Touch Me (Nora En Pure Bootleg Remix)
  12. Chi Duly – Coming Down (Remix)
  13. Tchami – Untrue (Original Mix)
  14. Kayper – Someone (Club Edit)
  15. Corona – Rhythm Of The Night (Kill Them With Colour Remix)
  16. Soft House Company – What You Need
  17. Shiba San – I Like Your Booty (Original Mix)
  18. Jonas LR – Cockiness (Remix)
  19. London Grammar – Hey Now (Sasha Remix)
  20. Dj Dan & WhiteNoize – Engine No. 9. (Original Mix)
  21. Chi Duly & DJ Technique – Watchin’ You (Original Mix)
  22. Black Orange Juice – Started In Paris
Learn more about Wacks and the mixtape HERE.
  • comment